e3 Civic High School

Board of Directors » Board of Directors

Board of Directors

he e3 Civic High Founding Board is dedicated to the mission of supporting urban students in their preparation for success in college, career and civic engagement.  Members are drawn to serve on the founding board because of their significant experience , expertise, and passion in these sane three areas and because of their continued commitment to help all students thrive in the public school system.


A current member also serves on the Board of Trustees of the San Diego Public Library Foundation, thus laying a firm foundation for the collaboration between the charter high school and the New San Diego Central Library. The board of e3 Civic High currently has eight members including several business community members, four representatives from local colleges/universities and one representative from the San Diego Unified School District. A total of eleven members can participate on the governing board.

e3 Civic High Board of Directors
Matthew Spathas
Chairman, e3 Civic High Board of Directors
Partner, SENTRE and Founder, ibrary.com
Laura Andrews
Senior Outreach Services Coordinator
Mental Health America of San Diego County

John Eger
Professor, Chair-Communications & Public Policy & Director of the Creative Economy Initiative
San Diego State University
Justina Estrada
Counseling and Wellness
Scripps Ranch High School

Mel Katz
Executive Officer
Manpower Staffing Services of San Diego, Inc.

Ginny Merrifield
Business Community

Dr. Alberto Ochoa
Professor Emeritus, Department of Policy Studies
San Diego State University

Rebecca Smith
Executive Director - Offices of Strengths and Vocation
Point Loma Nazarene University